Provider: KIPP Indy
Program Description
KIPP Indy, a charter network in Indianapolis, provided in-person math tutoring at one of its middle schools from January to May 2024. Tutors were college students hired through a local tutoring company, and students were pulled from elective classes during the school day. The study compared two models with the same cost per student: groups of 2 students meeting twice a week, and groups of 3 students meeting three times a week.
Findings
- Significant positive effect for groups of 2: Students tutored in pairs gained about 4 RIT points on MAP math (+0.23 SD) and 6 percentile points. Groups of 3 had no significant effect, despite the same cost per student.
- Over the 12 weeks, students attended about two-thirds of planned sessions: a median of 16 sessions in groups of 2 and 21 in groups of 3. Absences brought average group sizes down to 1.88 and 2.65 students.
- Exploratory analyses found no significant differences in effects by race, gender, or baseline math skills.
- Tutors were paid $40 per session regardless of group size, so both models cost about $40 per student per week in tutor pay. No full cost analysis was reported.
- The study took place in one school with a small sample (149 tutored students), and students attended only about two-thirds of planned sessions.
| Research Partner | University of Chicago |
| Study Year | 2023-24 |
| Study Location | One KIPP middle school in Indianapolis, Indiana |
| Modality | In-person |
| Study Design | RCT (Randomized Controlled Trial) |
| Total Sample | 343 randomly assigned (302 in the final analysis): 62 in groups of 2, 87 in groups of 3, 194 control |
| Characteristics of Treatment Group | Female: 45% Black: 77% Hispanic: 18% English Language Learner: Not reported Students with Disabilities (IEP): Not reported Economically Disadvantaged: Not reported (Full sample) |
| Subject | Math |
| Grades | 6, 7, 8 |
| Average Actual Dosage | Median of 16 sessions in groups of 2 and 21 sessions in groups of 3 |
| Scheduled Dosage | 2 or 3 sessions per week for 12 weeks; 24 or 36 sessions |